Cultural Respect Framework 2016-2026

The Cultural Respect Framework (CRF) was developed for the Australian Health Minister’s Advisory Council (AHMAC) by the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Standing Committee (NATSIHSC).

Page last updated: 22 March 2019

Cultural Respect is defined as:
“Recognition, protection and continued advancement of the inherent rights, cultures and traditions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people”.

The Cultural Respect Framework 2016-2026 is a ten year framework that commits the Commonwealth Government and all states and territories to embedding cultural respect principles into their health system. The CRF has identified six domain and focus areas:

  1. Whole of organisation approach and commitment
  2. Communication
  3. Workforce development and training
  4. Consumer participation and engagement
  5. Stakeholder partnership and collaboration
  6. Data, planning research and evaluation 

The primary audience for the CRF is the Australian public health system. This framework should be used in the government health sector, health departments and hospital and primary health care settings to guide strategies to improve culturally respectful services. Where your work interacts with health service delivery and design, the CRF should be used as a reference to ensure that the health system is accessible, respectful, and safe for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

To read the framework please reference the COAG website under the Publication/Reports page and look for the Cultural Respect Framework for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health 2016-2026 in the listed reports.