Public Health Laboratory Network Membership

This page contains the list of members of the Public Health Laboratory Network.

Page last updated: 01 October 2019

State and Territory Members

Professor Benjamin Howden
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit (MDU)
Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity
The Melbourne University

Dr Mike Catton
Deputy Chair
Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory
Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

Dr Amy Jennison
Supervising Scientist
Public Health Microbiology
Forensic & Scientific Services

Ms Rhonda Owen
Assistant Secretary
Health Emergency Management Branch
Office of Health Protection
Department of Health

Professor Vitali Sintchenko
Centre for Infectious Diseases and Microbiology
Public Health, ICPMR Pathology, NSW Health Pathology
Associate Professor, Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney

Dr Jen Kok
Medical Virologist
ICPMR Westmead Hospital

Prof William Rawlinson AM
Senior Medical Virologist
Virology Division
Department of Microbiology SEALS
Prince of Wales Hospital

Dr Karina Kennedy
Director Microbiology
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Department
ACT Pathology

Prof Graeme R Nimmo
Director of Microbiology
Pathology Queensland Central Laboratory

Dr Robert Baird
Director of Microbiology/Infectious Diseases Physician
Royal Darwin Hospital

Dr David Speers
Network Head
Department Division of Microbiology
PathWest Laboratory Medicine

Dr Tim Inglis
Medical Microbiologist
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
PathWest Laboratory Medicine

Dr Ivan Bastian
Clinical Microbiology Consultant
Infectious Diseases Laboratories
Institute of Medical & Veterinary Science

Dr Geoff Higgins
Clinical Virology Consultant
Infectious Diseases Laboratories
SA Pathology

Dr Louise Cooley
Department of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
Royal Hobart Hospital

National Members

Dr James Watson
Veterinary Investigation Leader
Australian Animal Health Laboratory
CSIRO Livestock Industries

Dr Faline Howes
CDNA Representative
Specialist Medical Advisor
Communicable Disease Prevention Unit
Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania

Expert Members

Dr Ian Barr
Deputy Director
WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza
Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory
Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

Professor Monica Lahra
WHO Collaborating Centre for STI and AMR
NSWHP Microbiology
National Neisseria Network Chair

Observer Members

Dr Jennifer Robson
Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology, WLD
Private Pathology Representative

Dr Michelle Gahan
Technical Intelligence Analyst
Technical and Forensic Intelligence
Australian Federal Police

Dr Anja Werno
Chair, New Zealand Microbiology Network
A/g Chief of Pathology and Laboratories
Canterbury District Health Board
New Zealand

Dr Virginia Hope
Medical Director
Health Group
Institute of Environmental Science and Research
New Zealand

Dr Michael Addidle
Clinical Microbiologist
Institute of Environmental Science and Research
New Zealand