Online version of the 2014-15 Department of Health Annual Report

Ministerial Responsibilities

as at 30 June 2015

Page last updated: 17 July 2019

The Hon Sussan Ley MP
Minister for Health and Minister for Sport

As senior Minister and member of Cabinet, Minister Ley holds overall responsibility for the portfolio and its entities and programmes with specific responsibility for:

  • Medicare benefits
  • pharmaceutical benefits
  • pharmacy
  • hospitals policy and implementation of funding reforms
  • private health insurance
  • health workforce capacity
  • medical indemnity insurance
  • primary health care and preventative health
  • eHealth
  • health and medical research including human cloning and stem cell research
  • mental health policy
  • national health priorities
  • biosecurity and bioterrorism
  • immunisation
  • blood borne viruses and sexually transmitted infections including HIV/AIDS
  • diagnostic and technology
  • sport and recreation
  • deregulation

Senator the Hon Fiona Nash
Assistant Minister for Health

As the Assistant Minister for Health, Senator the Hon Fiona Nash, has responsibility for:

  • rural and regional health services
  • multipurpose services
  • indigenous health services
  • palliative care
  • tobacco
  • illicit drugs including National Drug Strategy
  • alcohol
  • food policy
  • hearing services
  • blood and organ donation
  • gene technology regulation
  • Therapeutic Goods Administration
  • Office of Chemical Safety
  • Office of the Gene Technology Regulator
  • National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme
  • Oversight of the following Portfolio entities:
    • Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
    • Food Standards Australia New Zealand
    • National Blood Authority
    • Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority

In this section